Star Winter Series dominated by Augie Diaz and Magnus Liljedahl

The 2nd event of the 4th annual Star Winter Series took place on 2nd and 3rd January, with twenty teams taking part in 4 races in Miami, Florida. Posting all top 2 scores, Magnus Liljedahl and Augie Diaz won handily, outstripping themselves by 9 points over Brian Fatih and William Swigart in second, who were drew with Steve Calder and Eric Doyle but winning on count back.
John Hokanson and Arnd Glunde, the Canadians, have managed to leave with some edals, winning the Grand Masters part. Now in its 4th year, the Star Winter event is a single 1-design series, constituted of four winter weekend meets and a four-day Midwinter Championship, all voyaged out of a great club with a convenient and economical storage solution.
Only the top three Winter Series weekend meets will count toward SWS Championship Presented By EFG International. The Star Winter Series Champion would be the captain with the lowest total score to be accounted as follows – The sum of the overall spot in Star Midwinters multiplied by two, plus the lowest 3 scores from the 4 SWS weekend meets. Series Championship draws to be determined by a team’s spot in Midwinters.

2015-16 Star Winter Series
•    SWS Event 1: December 05-06, 2015 – Commodore’s Cup/District 20 Champs
•    SWS Event 2: January 02-03, 2016 – Levin Memorial Regatta
•    SWS Event 3: January 07-10, 2016 – Star Midwinters
•    SWS Event 4: February 20-21, 2016 – Schoonmaker Cup
•    SWS Event 5: March 05-06, 2016 – Walker Cup